Cor Lapideu…

5160812480_cdb785b1b8

I couldn’t stop heaven
from falling
It’s been years
since I walked
through the wreckage
and the ruins
but I still hear
the screams
of the angels

A tear
A silent prayer
that rolls down
my cheek
as my heart
is on its knees
begging to stay
the hand of time

How can I
return to the days
When I was adrift
In the ocean of
Your affection?
Days my heart drank deep
From the well
of your Love

As I walk
In the autumn twilight
leaves of
what could have been
Fall in shades
Of the life I’ve chosen
And bury
the path behind

 

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Cor Lapideu…

  1. tieme8 says:

    That last stanza says it all.

  2. Mr Modigliani says:

    It has been so long since I’ve read you, but I am immediately reminded of what a masterful writer and poet you are Eric.

  3. Mahared Wynn says:

    Oh Eric, another beauty! ❤️

  4. VictoryInTrouble says:

    God, that last stanza. Amazing, Eric. You are always amazing. ❤️

  5. Rita says:

    Oh, Eric. Such emotion, it brings tears. Fabulous, lil’ Brother of mine.

  6. This is amazing. That last stanza would also be amazing all on it’s own. Very powerful. ♥

  7. trE says:

    I think you have a keen way of focusing on romance and it always comes across so lovely in your poems.

    “A silent prayer
    that rolls down
    my cheek
    as my heart
    is on its knees
    begging to stay
    the hand of time

    How can I
    return to the days
    When I was adrift
    In the ocean of
    Your affection?”

    This is beautiful, Eric. Simply beautiful.

  8. Purpleanais says:

    Eric, what Mr M said…although I had a catch up on your blog the other day…but still, I hadn’t read you for a while and it blew me away all over again how amazingly good you are ❤

  9. mandibelle16 says:

    Sad and difficult to bury that past left behind. A very hard thing for this guy to do, great write Eric. Felt the pain in your words.

  10. Aishwarya says:

    It’s profound and beautifully structured! What does the title mean by the way and in what language?? 😃

  11. Bittersweet and beautiful

  12. Megha says:

    Love these lines.

  13. johncoyote says:

    I have enjoyed your poetry. Filled with real life and love for family and life. The best kind of poetry.

  14. johncoyote says:

    Reblogged this on johncoyote and commented:
    Please read and enjoy the poetry by a talented writer.

  15. Heartafire says:

    breathtaking writing Eric…wow!

Leave a Reply

