Restoration…

dcea7ca5ec386f934b6c3fe1ad72665c

Gabriel de Cool, “The Muse” 1895

She has
a voice to pierce
the darkened wall
around my heart

a guardian star
that wraps me in her warmth
and her light

and in these precious moments
when she lingers

if only for a little while
does she let me feel
her gravity

 

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Restoration…

  1. thefeatheredsleep says:

    So very lovely! would make a non romantic change their mind quickly!

  2. Heartafire says:

    Incredibly beautiful, I like the very unique formatting too!

  3. Meg Sorick says:

    I run out of new ways to compliment you, Eric! I love it and the painting, too! Now imagine I said that in some lofty and profound way! 😊

  4. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Oh, that’s beautiful! I love the idea that she’s a star and when she’s near, she draws you even further into her. Lovely. ❀

  5. Mahared Wynn says:

    Gorgeous, Eric! Sorry I’ve been so absent! I missed these beautiful words!

  6. This is so lovely and romantic. Beautiful

  7. Eric… this is so beautiful. β™₯

  8. Emily says:

    I love this, in particular the sense of gravity attracting him and her. Very vivid and powerful! ❀

  9. Mr Modigliani says:

    You are so gifted Eric … And there is even a great painting to match…

  10. my valiant soul says:

    Mesmerizing piece!

  11. Rita says:

    I just LOVE this one.

  12. Oh I love this. So, so beautiful. *Sigh*

  13. Nice calm feeling and rhythm to this poem. Beautiful words, Brother!

  14. mandibelle16 says:

    I keep reading this Eric. There is a lot in so few lines. I like that she “wraps” the speaker in “warmth in light” in fact, she is a “light.” I keep coming back to word “gravity.” She lets the speaker feel her “gravity.” Her importance, her significance, the weight she carries, her position in his life, that she is something which pulls him back to earth, when he is inclined to float? Many possibilities and wonderful piece for all them.

  15. Purpleanais says:

    Eric, this is PRECIOUS! ❀

  16. *sigh* I return to find this gem waiting for me. So nice to read your words again, my friend.

    And you are finding paintings that speak to my heart own their own. Let me just say that, when I see a Waterhouse (or something like it), I don’t want to see words. I don’t want to know what people thought of it or what stories they made up to go along with it so to say that your words make these painting more beautiful… They do, my friend. ❀ #mast

    • Eric says:

      I’m so happy to see you, Sarah. I’m humbled and so very happy that you find my work improves your enjoyment of the paintings!

      Thank you so much for being here.

      #mast ❀

  17. Souldiergirl says:

    Wow. This is breathtaking Eric. Your words are a warm blanket to my soul.

Leave a Reply

