Kamiko…

a68db2a03e6b61a262eab49224b6eb8a

There are black opals
set into the gilded wood
of the Emperor’s throne

They do not shine like her eyes
When they look at me in the early dawn

The stone of the mountain
does not contain
the strength I have seen
in her hips

the river never flows
with such grace
as her hands
that offer me tea

spring rain
never falls as softly
to my ears
as her voice

the blanket
of night
knows no way to mimic
the satin of her hair

the sun
rising over the forest
and casting the sea
into a thousand glittering gems
holds no promises
more awe-inspiring
than her smile

nor the moon
can seek to claim
a light more fair
than that which
shines from her spirit

the wind
is a barbarous brute
when compared
to the feel of her lips

the thunder
of a summer storm
can not match
the pounding in her chest

say what you will
of custom
drown out voices that call
for a different time
when this world is ash
and the last soul lives in heaven

this truth has always been thus…

when her head was bowed
in deference to me

Know you this…

My heart was ever

recumbent

upon the ground

for Her

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Kamiko…

  1. Mr Modigliani says:

    I’ve been thinking of you, especially related to the flooding, and am wondering if all is well.

    • Eric says:

      Thank you for your concern, MM. Most of the flooding is well north of New Orleans. For now, my family and I are quite safe. My heart is broken for the northern and central parts of my state…I know exactly what they are going through and it is terrible. So many people have lost so much.

      In the end, i hope they can find the strength in knowing that their lives…and perhaps the lives of the ones they love are safe…and things can be replaced.

      Thank you.

  2. Purpleanais says:

    Be still, my beating heart. I always thought swooning was for other people, but I believe I just did do that ❀

  3. You are a veritable master of imagery and this poem is chock-full of some of your best from the very opening:

    “There are black opals
    set into the gilded wood
    of the Emperor’s throne”

    I mean… I can SEE the throne! Great job, Brother! πŸ™‚

  4. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Beautiful! Wow, this is so lovely and full of gorgeous imagery. You always amaze me, Eric. ❀️

  5. πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•

  6. Rita says:

    I’ve no words lil’ brother to describe how much I love this. Bravo πŸ‘πŸ»

  7. Mahared Wynn says:

    Oh yes! Amazing, Sir Eric! Love! ❀️

  8. Heartafire says:

    A gem!

  9. thefeatheredsleep says:

    I read this yesterday and then today. SENSUAL and the picture is perfect! Do you have her number? πŸ˜‰

  10. Stunning. ❀ And absolutely love the ending, my friend.

    • Eric says:

      A trait I think you share with this poem.

      • An ending?! O_o Gah!

        (Confession: I always feel like I have to be all poetic or serious or something on your blog. I stand out like a sore thumb. A sore, uncouth thumb. If, you know, thumbs could be uncouth.) “That girl lacks the sophistication and refinement necessary for ‘My Sword and Shield’ blog.”

        Thank you, my beautiful friend. ❀ I love you for loving me as I am.

  11. Souldiergirl says:

    Catching up one gorgeous piece at a time :))

Leave a Reply

