The Fisherman’s Wife…

french-painters-jules-joseph-lefebvre-graziella-1415992055_org

Jules Lefebvre “Graziella” 1878

The fisherman’s wife was so fair
from her stormy eyes
to her auburn hair

She loved a man who was blind
handsome of face
strong and kind

They lived together by the sea
with the wind and the waves
and their children three

In the evening she sat on the rocks
repairing his nets
and darning his socks

he’d walk her back home every night
she would look at the stars
and smile at their light

“it’s so wonderful, I wish you could see”
and she’d hold his hand tightly
exploding with glee

“I don’t need to” he’d answer her plain
“For I saw all their beauty…
..when I first heard your name”

 

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to The Fisherman’s Wife…

  1. thefeatheredsleep says:

    So many things I love about this. Firstly of course, the wordage. The choice of auburn hair, a much ridiculed sister of red, triumph the one who is lest appreciated, I approve, and then the painting, never seen that, gorgeous, great choice, goes perfectly, but you knew that, you always do. Oh my friend, you write like the bards of 1700’s who knew how to worm out magic from ordinary life, something we have so forgotten in our striving for accomplishment and power, you remain the piper of beauty, a lost art, a much loved thing, we need to be mindful to appreciate poetries origins did not lie in humor, slam, or anger, but the relishing and rendering of loveliness, something you do with seeming ease. xo

    • Eric says:

      I don’t know how to explain what happens inside my heart when you talk to me like this! all I can say is I am so glad you choose to come here and bring your beautiful light with you! Such a wonderful part of my life, you are!

      Thank you, Shieldmaiden. ❤ so very much.

  2. thefeatheredsleep says:

    PS: Given the scorn of any fair-skinned soul during Summer I for one appreciate that part too! 😉

  3. Hemangini says:

    such a beautiful poem. seriously, loved it. you should submit it somewhere for publication.

  4. Nicely done, Brother! 🙂

  5. Purpleanais says:

    Candice, with her usual insight, has said it all far better than I could. You are a bard, a lovely soul spreading beautiful thoughts, feelings and words with a harp. I love this, like I love everything you write. This is especially tender and ever so delicate ❤ ❤

    • Eric says:

      Awww, thank you Nathalie. I appreciate that so much. So happy that you find it beautiful and so thankful for you being here. 💜💜💜

  6. Meg Sorick says:

    Gorgeous, simply gorgeous! Such old world romance! ❤️

  7. Mahared Wynn says:

    Oh so romantic and sweet. You always sweep me away!

  8. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Wow, Eric. If there was ever a romantic last line to just melt hearts everywhere… You have such a beautiful gift for loveliness. Your soul shines through these pieces of art you create. ❤️

  9. You have such a beautiful way with words. This is such a sweet, romantic piece. ♥

  10. Rita says:

    This will become one of my favorites.

  11. So beautiful! You paint such a lovely picture with your words

  12. Emily says:

    All about the heart, right here. Who needs sight when your heart is held the right way? If we all closed our eyes and listened more to what our hearts said, we would have more genuine experiences in life and love, I believe.

    Fantastic, E. ❤

  13. Souldiergirl says:

    Oh my goodness..Eric you have such a gift

  14. Shahz says:

    Beautifully written.Loved the image😍👍

Leave a Reply

