Visiting a Ghost…..

Every year…I say, I’m not going to think about it this time. But I always do.
It was 11 years ago. It was a massive blow to my life. Many times you think you can imagine what you would do…if for some reason, you lost everything in the space of one day….

Fantasy never matches reality.

My Sword and Shield....

New Orleans is my City.

She is my Mistress and My Home.

I love her as much as it is possible for any human to love where they come from.

She has Style and elegance.

She has seen a lot of American History.

She has also seen a lot of Human misery and Pain.

But this entry isn’t about Nawlins (The way we pronounce her name, and the only way it should be pronounced)

It’s about where I grew up. A small town, just outside the Embrace of the city.

A very small town, in comparison to New Orleans, herself.

Chalmette, Louisiana.

I lived 28 years of my life there.

In a house, about 500 yards from the banks of the Mississippi River.

Here’s a view of my marshland home from the bridge that you need to cross to get there.

bridge

When you live in New Orleans and the surrounding…

View original post 1,051 more words

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Visiting a Ghost…..

  1. Rita says:

    I was thinking of you this morning, my brother. I have no words.

  2. I cannot imagine going through this… how it must feel. Many hugs. ♥

  3. Ms. Vee says:

    It must be heart wrenching for you Eric. So sorry to read this. 💛

  4. thefeatheredsleep says:

    I read this the other day but didn’t comment because I was on my phone. I wanted to say I really related to this one E because I left France to move to England when I was still a kid, then I lived there for a while and then moved from there to America (with one year in Canada) and I don’t think I have ever felt somewhere was my home. I think I have always wanted to meet someone who would claim me and find me a home but that is such a cop out because it’s not the other person’s role to do that, it’s the idea of the people you meet and the places and memories carving that meaning into your soul. For that reason I envy and like when someone feels they have a ‘home’ and I felt this very acutely – beautifully written my friend.

  5. Souldiergirl says:

    For some reason I can’t comment on the original post so I came back here. This is so touching Eric. You have the deepest, most precious soul. Thank you for sharing this part of you.

Leave a Reply

