Freyja’s Tears…

Gustav Klimt "Freyja's Tears" 1883

Gustav Klimt “Freyja’s Tears” 1883

Amid the sunset
in this
the silent evening

I close my eyes
and feel the Woad
dry tight against my skin

I feel the last rays
of the sun
bathe me in the red and gold
of Your tears

Her me
Battlemaiden of Asgard

Her me
Oh, Mother of War

Guide me
Proud Warrioress
Among the trials I may face

Teach my hand
to wield my shield
with the same skill as I wield my blade

That I might defend
my brothers and sisters
my charges and my family

That I might
shed blood sparingly
and shed tears, easily

That I may
not lust for the War Horn
but never fail to answer it

I know
you see the fate of everyone
whatever my fate, I am ready

I want
to follow you
back from this field

I want to
follow your chariot
to Sessrumnir and drink among the Gods

Hear Me,
Mighty Freyja

This small voice
from a much bigger heart
reaching to you from humble Midgard

Find Me Worthy

*still on a Viking kick….we may return to your regularly scheduled sappy love poems in the near future. Right now my blood is still full of Barbaric Yawps and thunder storms

 

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Freyja’s Tears…

  1. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Ooh! I love this. I love his plea to not lust for battle but not to shrink from it either. And this part:
    “That I might
    shed blood sparingly
    and shed tears, easily”
    Speaks from your lovely heart. I like everything you give us so I don’t need the disclaimer, lol. Plus, I kinda like the storm in your blood. 😉

  2. Mr Modigliani says:

    As much as I love Klimt, we need to find you some good Viking-inspired art Eric. Your deep respect for strong women is always so apparent to me and endears you to your readers (including me).

  3. Souldiergirl says:

    So powerful Eric, you are truly incredible. You inspire me so much.

  4. Rita says:

    Brother, I can’t begin to tell you how this touches me. This stanza takes my breath away – “That I may not lust for the War Horn but never fail to answer it” SO BE IT . . .

  5. Purpleanais says:

    I am LOVING the Viking kick, Eric. I have so much respect for a man who is not afraid but admiring of strong women, kudos to you for that ❤

  6. I want to be a Viking. Penciling good

  7. mandibelle16 says:

    Beautiful words as always 🙂

  8. thefeatheredsleep says:

    What the heck? I managed to completely miss this one ARGH I hate it when I do that!
    Everything everyone above me said .. all true, all deserved
    great subject, great choice, wonderful picture to go with it, and a subject I don’t think we talk enough about. I wish that I could read in other languages from the Viking times because I’d want to know how much is written about them NOW – but without translation you cannot say – so in terms of writing in English, then you are one of few who does – this is definitely something people want to know about, read about, and you are keeping this alive by doing so. WELL DONE my friend! My talented, wonderful mind of a friend!

  9. John W. Leys says:

    This is very powerful, very good! It has an authentic Viking/Nordic vibe to it. I like it a lot!

  10. Awesome. My favorite: “Teach my hand/to wield my shield/with the same skill as I wield my blade”. Bloody brilliant. ❤ #mast

Leave a Reply

