Ariadne…

John Waterhouse "Ariadne Naxos" 1898

John Waterhouse “Ariadne Naxos” 1898

I have seen Her

The Aegean sea
in Her hair

Her warm skin
kissed
in the Mediterranean Sun

Her supple hands
that spun the crimson thread
that bore a hero through
to kill the beast of the labyrinth

but what hero is this?
that leaves
such a vessel of
valor and courage
wrapped in womanly flesh?

as She slumbers in peace
doth the rogue
take flight to the waves
and away with Her heart
steal the morning light
from Her eyes

Were I born
of likeness to brave Dionysus
and to seek the favor
of Olympus

Receive the blessing
to Woo, Her

Then should She
not shed tears
to find Her heart stolen away
while in the world of dreams

no
say not
what they would have us believe

Athena did not
in Her manner of reason
lead Theseus away

Nay,
he left her
alone..
thankless knave!

and though
She lives now
on that great mountain
above humanity

Her ear
will bend to me
For Her heart
and mine
are linked by a common thread

for just when we
were thought safe to slumber
we awoke instead
to a broken heart
and a leaving tide

under the sky of Naxos
we lost everything

and so

I will wait for Her

and She will one day
hear my voice

and I will one day
look down

and at my feet
will be Her crimson ball of yarn

and on that day

Labyrinths will fail
and Minotaurs will fall

 

Author’s note:
Yep, Mr. Waterhouse and I teamed up again. 🙂

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Ariadne…

  1. thefeatheredsleep says:

    He’s done it again!!! ARGH! I’m a big fan of Pre-Raphaelites, this picture goes SO well with your gorgeous writing/poem. You are the modern Pre-Raphaelite. When I was growing up in France I was taunted for having strawberry blonde then auburn hair and pale skin, by all the tanned skinned kids. I grew to hate my pale skin until I learned about the Pre-Raphaelites. They gave us ‘strange’ beauties, a way to accept ourselves and love who we were, rather than have to be all tanned and California. I remember I never believed a man would love me or desire me because of my pallor, my first (and really, only) boyfriend was Arab and he was dark-skinned and thought fair-skin was so beautiful, it really was like waking up from a nightmare to be appreciated like that, having years of being taunted by cousins who were all dark and perfect and my father who told me I was ugly for being pale. The first man (or person) who makes you feel beautiful about yourself, turns your life around. I shall always be grateful for that, and for the artists who made being pale okay. Your poem is another ray of light in that world – you are the bard of beauty and you know how to turn anything into light my talented friend.

    • Eric says:

      Thank you My Beautiful Shieldmaiden. 💕 I am so happy that my writing makes you feel the way it does. I couldn’t be more honored to have you here. You and your beautiful light skin. 😌😍😄

      • thefeatheredsleep says:

        I kept looking at that picture, it’s just glorious you really picked a fine one, those colors, they really complimented your lovely words here my friend

  2. VictoryInTrouble says:

    I love when you guys team up! I think he’d be so happy to read your accompanying words. You’ve done such a beautiful job with this. 🙂

  3. mandibelle16 says:

    So beautiful and such a romantic and classical quality to your poem, like Greek myths. I loved how you used those Greek myths and Athena, The sleeping woman is very interesting too. Not helpless in sleep but strong still. And your speaker wants to wake her, to win her heart. He prays to Athena to do this, but it seems that fate (the red ball of yarn) might have him waiting long until the games and doings of the gods have failed. Really fascinating stuff!

  4. Rita says:

    Absolutely breathtaking ❤️❤️❤️

  5. What an awesome ending!

    Labyrinths will fail
    and Minotaurs will fall

  6. Meg Sorick says:

    This is amazing. You’ve ‘painted’ a beautiful word picture to accompany the Waterhouse. So in awe of your talent, Eric! ❤️

  7. Purpleanais says:

    Beautiful, Eric and I am a BIG fan of John Waterhouse ❤

Leave a Reply

