Veronica…

 

veronicalodgeShe was
a storm-shrouded rose
as she leaned
on the rail of the bleachers

The sodium lights
fell across her ebony mane
picking out the edges of
her burgundy sweater

and

When that
“Riverdale”
written across her bosom
was pressed against my chest

I’ll admit
my heart
thumped its own arrangement
of our fight song

How often
had my lips
never slipped a word
of the Alma Mater
delayed by the
paralyzing effects
of her kiss

While brass and drum played
over our victorious team
she and I would
sway to the sound
of music only we could hear

Sound and Fury?
never could Shakespeare
have said so much
as I am able
to say what I know of her…

How like a
summer rainstorm
she moved

at once so placid
with the entire universe
reflected in her dark eyes
and the balance of my world
on the corner of her lips

then

rage,
in the heart
of this dark angel
spills from the chalice
of her soul…

She is a wellspring
of ambition..

a flameless fire
from which all water shrinks
for she sets
even that most familiar
element of life
ablaze

and for my part
I can not argue

That while, Elizabeth Cooper
may be the paragon
of the Sunlit sky
The Universe
and my heart
bends
to the will
of
Veronica Lodge

c3e52cffef6872751a04546d0792943c

Author’s note: Apparently, Bob Montana and I work together just was well. πŸ˜‰

 

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Veronica…

  1. Heartafire says:

    splendid!

  2. Huh. And she knows to use the Oxford Comma. Rock on, Veronica.

    Fab piece, Archie. πŸ’‹

  3. Meg Sorick says:

    The brunette gets the top spot for once! She was a sassy girl… I loved Veronica!

  4. thefeatheredsleep says:

    BRILLIANT! I was also more Veronica inclined than B… Betty? I forget. Because not being American I didn’t know about Archie until one year when I was around nine I went to this beach in Spain they had a little cantina where they sold those small comic books and also lemon sorbet, every day I’d busk on the beach doing handstands and get enough money to buy a comic book and a lemon sorbet. Then I’d sit at the bar pretending to be an adult and read my book. Sometimes Daffy Duck but often they had Archie whom I’d never seen before, being in Spanish it took a while to get the jist but eventually I did since it’s similar to French – and I always preferred the more ‘fiesty’ brunette but then I’m partial to brunettes anyway – Archie was a classic – you did a great job!

    • Eric says:

      Ah! yes, Betty Cooper was the other one. My first remembrance of Archie was when i was about 7 or 8, the barber would give me Archie Comics to keep me occupied while he cut my hair. Like most little boys, i had a flare for fidgeting. I found I could never take my eyes off Veronica. And even when I got older and came to understand that she was supposed to symbolize the Snobbish Upperclass…it still didn’t tarnish my crush on her. πŸ˜‰ She is full of fire and fury, just like you My Shieldmaiden! πŸ™‚

  5. Eric! Whom is this Veronica girl? She seems like a bad-ass brunette! πŸ˜‰ Nicely done! πŸ™‚

  6. Mr Modigliani says:

    This was so much fun Eric. So… Ginger or Mary Anne?

  7. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Ha, I love this! This part is my favorite:
    “and the balance of my world
    on the corner of her lips”
    lol, I like Mr.M’s question.

  8. Rita says:

    Lol! I friggin’ love this.

  9. This is almost as awesome as you

  10. Souldiergirl says:

    This is awesome Eric! Yesss 😊😊

  11. Purpleanais says:

    Fantastic! I read everything you write holding my breath and I don’t even realise I’m doing it until I finish reading ❀

  12. John W. Leys says:

    Love this. Very well done. More of a Betty/Mary Anne guy myself, but loved it anyway πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

