Rocket Girl…

spacegirl

artwork by Zezhou Chen —- zezhouchen.com

They say space is “cold”….

But
They’ve never been strapped into
the personal-space-invading cockpit
of a jumper frigate with her

There is something about
our long conversations
between warp gates
that fills me with the notion

one lightjump
too close to her heart
would make plasma burns
feel like butterfly kisses

preflight
it’s all I can do
to keep my attention on mundane
things like fusion monitors and power conductors

but damn,
my reactor core redlines

With every accidental brush
of her hand
against my thigh

reaching for clipboards
and consoles
under the glow of LEDs and display monitors
She’s just an ordinary pilot
running freight to the far reaches
of the terran empire

But I know..

her eyes are singularities
and mine can’t resist her gravity

our next stop
is 5 jumps
outside the Halcyon cluster

…..God, I love my job….

 

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Rocket Girl…

  1. Rita says:

    Love it! You are so damned creative, Bro.

  2. thefeatheredsleep says:

    HOW DO YOU DO IT???!!!!!!!

  3. thefeatheredsleep says:

    I second Rita – SO creative! (great picture just LOVE it!)

  4. Meg Sorick says:

    I might just die of likey-ness! Your reactor core is overheating! Wahoo! This is so awesome and clever, Eric! Sorry for all the exclamation points!

  5. This is brilliant. However I now have a song Rocketman in my head. The William Shatner version

  6. Heartafire says:

    Love this Eric!

  7. trE says:

    You came alive here:

    “but damn,
    my reactor core redlines

    With every accidental brush
    of her hand
    against my thigh

    reaching for clipboards
    and consoles
    under the glow of LEDs and display monitors
    She’s just an ordinary pilot
    running freight to the far reaches
    of the terran empire

    But I know..

    her eyes are singularities
    and mine can’t resist her gravity”

    and, it is incredble, Eric!

  8. VictoryInTrouble says:

    πŸ˜€ I love this so much!! Your mind is amazing. πŸ™‚ Though her space suit is wildly impractical- she has a nice butt. πŸ˜„πŸ˜‹

  9. This is really cute, Eric! You keep giving me all these great ideas for my next cosplay outfit! 😊 It’s a little nerdy, but I think that’s why I like it so much! Something about a handsome nerd – gets some women all the time! πŸ˜‰ Lol

  10. Leslie Meeks says:

    I really enjoyed this.

  11. Purpleanais says:

    You are AMAZING! ❀

  12. Souldiergirl says:

    Ha! This is soooo awesome Eric. You’re the best.

Leave a Reply

