The Autumn Hollow (revisited)

overnature-com-591

Far down the Hillside
Where the muddy creek mixes
With Gold, Brown and Red leaves
There is a place where no one goes
And no one knows, ‘cept the Trees

It’s told, in Ancient times,
In this season of Frost and Colors
The Dawn Mists were witness
To the meetings of Two Young Lovers

They met each morning
Beneath the Boughs of Oaks
Their names and hearts covered
and Hidden behind Their Cloaks

But their love was Wrong
Each had bid their lives unto Another
One to the Crown, One to the King
Oathed and  “Let no Man put Asunder”.

This Palace of Trees, This hanging Moss
It kept their Play a Secret
It was a place to store their wish
Where no Mortal Lock could Keep it.

Fools are Men but not All Men are Fools
Least of all The King
And muddy footprints and Autumn leaves
Sometimes to Flagstones, Cling

T’was a Frosty Morning, The Mist was there
The Oaks and The Maples stood by
And a Sellsword crouched on bended knee
With a Nocked Arrow set to fly

When the Lovers emerged and took their place
Upon this Natural Stage
An Arrow for One, an Arrow for Two
And an Assassin collects his wage

Ever Since, it is Said,
The Leaves only Turn Red
No more Gold or Brown
Can be Seen

Far down the Hillside
Where the muddy creek mixes
With Blood and Tears and Red leaves
There is a place where no one goes
And no one knows, ‘cept the Trees

 

Author’s note:
It’s time, once again, that I feel that punch to the gut that comes with my Muse not speaking to me. I know, I give off the illusion that I have an endless supply of words flowing through me.  And they probably do…but I need Her to help me organize them and lay them out.

*sigh* She’ll be back…I’m sure before too long.

Until then, I decided to clean this one up from a long while back. I wanted to write something about Autumn…and while this is a somber story…it’s one of my favorites.

Happy Autumnal Equinox everyone, I appreciate you being here!

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to The Autumn Hollow (revisited)

  1. My muse must have ran off with yours. Sigh. Anyway. love the imagery in this one. It almost has a folk song quality to it.

    • Eric says:

      Thank you, Tosha! yes, i often thought it would make a good folk song…something a Bard would be singing by a fire, in a small tavern just off the road in the chilly autumn countryside.

      Hmmm…..I think maybe I hear the click click of high heels heading down my Poetic Hallways…LOL! The only thing that sucks is I’m leaving work and getting to a computer when I get home would be a miracle…ah well…maybe I’ll have something for tomorrow then. 😉

  2. Meg Sorick says:

    You know how I feel about story telling poems! Excellent! Sorry the Muse is silent, my friend. Meantime, aren’t you looking handsome in your tux! ❤

  3. VictoryInTrouble says:

    This is beautiful and tragic and so very lovely with the rhyme style. I hope your muse comes back to you. Feeling a bit like that myself. My words are hard to come by lately.

  4. Emily says:

    Beautiful and tragic indeed. You have a way, Eric, you have a way. ❤

  5. mandibelle16 says:

    This is beautiful Eric and tragic. Their safe place, their place of love destroyed with them. Love how the trees only turn red now in fall.

  6. Rita says:

    Love it, my Brother.

  7. Eric, I love Autumn! This is a nice write. Love the picture to accompany beautiful words. 😊 Your muse is not talking to you right now?…I’m sorry to hear that. She has read your poetry and knows how handsome you are, right? Hoping she talks to you again soon! You are a nice man! Thinking of you! 🙂💕

  8. I love this. Happy Autumnal Equinox. 🍁🍂🍁🍂🍁🍂
    Your Muse will return in her time. Trust her. She knows you. 💛 #mast

  9. rachel says:

    beautiful as always my sweet friend. x

  10. Ms. Vee says:

    I enjoyed this. I know you’ll find muse very soon. I always enjoy whatever you write Eric. Blessings and peace! Nice picture.☺💖✌

  11. Purpleanais says:

    This is now officially my favourite poem about Autumn, EVER. Tragic, yes, but so beautifully told! You have a gift, Eric. I wouldn’t bother too much about the muse, she shows up when she feels like it but…she always does turn up eventually though, doesn’t she? I have the same problem: when I need her, she’s nowhere to be found but when I’m busy and have really no time to devote to her, there she is whispering all kind of things in my ear until I have no choice but to stop and listen 🙂

  12. Souldiergirl says:

    This is so powerful. Sad and beautiful. You are so unique Eric. Your words are like a screenplay and my soul soaks in every letter. Love reading you 💙

Leave a Reply

