Seance…

muse

Gentle crepuscular spirit
that haunts my soul
Do you know?
How thus do your fawn eyes
affect me?
Rendered unto my own
from thy tender face
with propped chin
upon folded arms
How could this romantic
lump of argil
within my chest
form you into anything other
than a Goddess
of the olde times and I have seen thee
In form and fashion
sometimes as a bright apparition
a scarlet flame
against the nothingness betwixt the stars
sometimes
as this dark and smouldering creature
which drapes her form before me
over rich furs and quilted opulence
like a charred log
ashen and warm
with an inferno roiling beneath
ever have you been my protector
standing between myself
and the yawing abyss
Athena
with your strong aegis and bright spear
you guard the tender parts
of our soul
You and I
two halves of one coin
ever a part of me
before I was ever a part of this world
Mother
of my respect for women
Progenitor
of everything I believe it is
to be a man
You, who
blunt the edge of the blade
You, who
defies it to cut so deep
You, who
banishes daemons and nightmares
You, who
speaks for me when I have no voice
You, who
loves without cause or reason or consideration
It is the birthright of all poets
to be able to converse with their own heart
and by the subtle shake of your head
and the coy smile upon your lips
I understand it is my
mortal arrogance
that leads me to believe
I control
this conversation

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Seance…

  1. Rita says:

    First, wow! Second, the freaks come out at night 😊

  2. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Wow. I didn’t know if this would be scary based on the title and you know what a wimp I am. But this is just so beautiful, Eric! I love it!

  3. Athena, what a woman 😍

  4. Ms. Vee says:

    Very beautiful my friend!!!

  5. Oh, Eric…this is just gorgeous. She is definitely back, one can tell with this post. 😊 Love this πŸ’•

  6. Siren's Musings says:

    ❀ ❀ ❀ Your writings bring such peace and passion (a perfect union, in my opinion) to my soul!!

  7. Souldiergirl says:

    This is gorgeous. Wow, incredible Eric. Love it so much

  8. I really like the bright apparition, scarlet flame line. Beautifully crafted

  9. mandibelle16 says:

    This one is fascinating Eric. You speaking to your muse, your heart, your conscience, poetic voice — all of these things form that voice and speaks to you as you write in the form of a woman, “Athena” I believe you compare this poetic muse to at one point. The end section is my favourite. You having this conversation with your own muse, your heart, and knowing “by the subtle shake of (her) head” and the “coy smile on (her) lips” believing that you yourself are in control, and not your heart and your muse. Loved it!

    • Eric says:

      Oh Mandi! Thank you again, for always digging so deeply into my work. It is such a wonderful thing to read and I really appreciate the time you take! πŸ’™

      • mandibelle16 says:

        Your always welcome Eric. You write poetry so well, many of your pieces make me think, consider, and ask questions and I love that about your work. Enjoy the rest of your week πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

