Immersion…

staggering-deep-water-wallpapers-for-desktop-21

As She placed
Her hand upon my chest
my heart
was a panicked moth
fluttering against Her palm
Her eyes
promised to drown me
in the deepest part of Her soul
and never was there
a fool
more eager
to dive into their crushing depths
than I
smiling
like an idiot
to watch the last precious bubble of air
escape my lips
and rise up through Her waters
traveling toward heaven
to speak of my fall..

Haven’t read one out loud in a while

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Immersion…

  1. Siren's Musings says:

    A joy to read (especially for a Siren) but even more of a joy to hear it.

  2. trE says:

    Yes to this, Eric!

    “Her eyes
    promised to drown me
    in the deepest part of Her soul
    and never was there
    a fool
    more eager
    to dive into their crushing depths
    than I”

    Great wording, tone, and emotion above. I love it!

  3. Emily says:

    Wonderful. Vivid imagery and great to hear you read it πŸ™πŸΌπŸ˜Š

  4. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Beautiful! He’s a lover not an idiot. πŸ˜‹ What a treat to hear your voice. 😊

  5. Eric, I can see this moment play out so beautifully in my mind. Seeing these words can only mean they are said with the truest infliction. 😊 πŸ’•

  6. Rita says:

    I love when you read for us!

  7. mandibelle16 says:

    Lovely, well written. She saves him, he drowns in her, and he rises up from the waters through her. Such a beautiful image.

  8. Heartafire says:

    lovely!

  9. Souldiergirl says:

    One of my favorites without a doubt! Incredible dragonheart. How we are fools for such things, eager to drown. Love you πŸ’™πŸ’™

Leave a Reply

