Sand Castles (Revisited)

6041f2a72f58ada63a02474f9a17aa5a

Build your Sand Castles

I see them standing over there with their pockets full of stones

But these demons are intruders here

We have been through this so many times

You and I

Do you remember when you and I first met?

Out on the edge of Everything

You were building a galaxy then

You were the bright center

Shoals of Stars swirled around you

Impossible to escape your gravity

No sounds except for the beating of my heart

Build your Sand Castles

I remember your eyes telling me every story that has ever been told

And I will stand here in my sneakers and My Superman Tshirt, holding my Garbage can lid

I’ll stop them

When I was a paladin of Charlemagne

When I carried the body of Alexander back to His rest

When I defended Troy from ravage and ruin

When I knocked on your door for the first time

I did not falter then

Build your Sand Castles, My Lady

They might approach, But I’m here

My words were written on the Milky Way before we had eyes to read them

They will be there long after I am gone

This is what I was born to do

Build your Sand Castles

And know no Fear

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Sand Castles (Revisited)

  1. Dylan Greene says:

    Reblogged this on Memory of the Star and commented:
    D&D tonight. Enjoy the reblog!

  2. I think I missed this the first time! So glad you posted it again! Love building sand castles at the beach! 😊 This is a very nice post, Eric! P.S. My costumes came the other day…trying them on tomorrow! I’m excited! πŸ˜€

  3. Rita says:

    Oh, I love this ❀️

  4. Sweet and beautiful and lovely. #mast ❀️

  5. You killed it with the last two lines. Beautiful

  6. Souldiergirl says:

    Gah I love this so much!!

  7. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Oh, I love this, you beautiful poet!

  8. Purpleanais says:

    I have NO words – you have officially robbed me of speech, Eric.

Leave a Reply

