Plummet…

Asteroid before the impact in water

Eagerly
I would make
this Icarian plummet
from the Sun
falling through the clear crisp sky
for the joy
of feeling the impact
with the surface of the ocean
in her eyes
in rapturous pain
to feel the warm
waters close over my head
and sink into my dreams of her
and if it would mean
that by making this fall
I would one day
hear her sweet voice
and no longer count her kiss
in memories made
from wishes
summoned between twilight and morning
then
even though
those lips I had kissed
in my mind
a thousand times
stood as still as the gates
to Hades
I understand
the fury of
Cerberus sleeps
within her eyes
and never will there be
a soul
more lost to the Styx
than mine

Author’s note: Inspired by my beautiful friend, Rachel at https://findingrachelsway.wordpress.com

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Plummet…

  1. Very nostalgic, romantic, and lovely

  2. rachel says:

    i think you’re incredible. my hero. xo

  3. Aishwarya says:

    This is so beautiful Eric!

  4. Mr Modigliani says:

    You’re such a romantic Eric. Great work

  5. Rita says:

    You know how I feel; your heart overflows with these fabulous words and mine drinks them up. I’m grateful for your existence, lil bro ❤️

  6. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Oh, goodness, this is magical. Your heart is beautiful, Eric. 🙂

  7. Purpleanais says:

    Oh, Rachel is such a lucky woman to have served as inspiration for ANOTHER beautiful piece of work ❤

  8. Souldiergirl says:

    So gorgeous dragonheart

  9. From your delicate and beautiful writing I can tell you are a sweet and sensitive guy…there is so much warmth in your words and you exude a positive energy that I can feel even off the blog (I’m an empath) 🙂

Leave a Reply

