Recollect…

tg1qzb

My Falling
was not so much
a Tumbled, Rattling,
Impact-Shattered Event
but a controlled Descent
of My Heart
By Her Gentle Hand

She is an Unquenchable
drop of Molten Passion
Burning a path
of Desire and Destruction
Straight through
My Soul

My Heart Yearns
For these Sacred,
Lucid moments
When no Chemical High
Could convince Me
To Switch my Addiction
To it
From Her

Her lips
Deepest Red
Not waxy paint
But the rich Sanguine Ink
Of My Soul
Upon which She Feeds
Savoring every Drop
Of verse
I bleed

And She
is content to Sit
as i write for Her
a banquet of
The words that
line the halls of
my Heart

My nightly Quest
To Give to Her
a Fragment of My
Eternal Soul
to deliver a piece
of Myself
Willingly
Into Her Beautiful Hands

And She has promised
to return to Me
all the sacred artifacts
of my Younger days
and restore to
Me that strength
I knew
When caution
to me
was a stranger

She holds
The better part
of My spirit
within Her chest
and She will
breathe into Me
all that
I lack in these
later years

For I have grown tired of knowing the taste
of my own blood

She will one day
fulfill this contract
that was forged
so many half-lives
ago

Of more than This
She can not Vow
For evenings
end far too soon
and the morning comes
Far too early

It is ever Our Fate
to yield to Dawn’s Opening
Before Our Lips Touch
and Our Fingers
Remember

 

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Recollect…

  1. my valiant soul says:

    Flawlessly written.

  2. Ms. Vee says:

    Wow! I love this Eric. Truly a masterpiece of written art!πŸ’–

  3. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Ahh, the longing. This is amazing. So vivid.

  4. thefeatheredsleep says:

    I’m SO glad you are back! Have to agree this is flawless and gorgeous my friend! Such talent!

  5. Meg Sorick says:

    Gorgeous Eric. So wonderfully romantic!

  6. Dana R says:

    A romantic interlude, Poet. πŸ˜‰

  7. Emily says:

    Aw, sigh… Fantastic, vivid, poignant. ❀

  8. How is it but every time my eyes meet your words, my heart falls ever more so… πŸ˜ŠπŸ’• exquisite, Eric!

  9. CuteFaceAI says:

    Fabulous, Eric πŸ™‚

  10. Really beautiful. Full of longing and nostalgia

  11. ANIE HART says:

    There’s a special place in my heart for your poetry πŸ’™ and when it rhymes…floored! πŸ€—

  12. mandibelle16 says:

    Beautiful and lovely. Romantic and sensual even, description of your muse. How she works with him in all the different stages of his life. Giving strength and helping him remember, create etc. Great piece!

  13. Gorgeous.
    Love this:
    Her lips
    Deepest Red
    Not waxy paint
    But the rich Sanguine Ink
    Of My Soul
    Upon which She Feeds

    #mast ❀️

  14. Geetha B says:

    So beautiful Eric!

  15. Purpleanais says:

    Eric, I want-no,need!-for you to be cloned.

Leave a Reply

