Love had no name…

Pompeo Girolamo Batoni – Cleopatra and Marcus Antonius

In the footsteps
of Caesar
There can be no small
Shrinking shadows
Lions will feast on the flesh
of the dead
as readily as the vulture
but Lions
do not possess the stomach
for such scraps
they are not born
to wander the desert
in search of riches or glory
Sharpened tooth
and razor claw
are implements to an end
and the flames of war
consume even the bravest of hearts
until blackened and diminished
they return to the stars
from which they were forged
when my ears
were told that your heart
had, with thine own hand the culprit
made that journey
back to center of the universe
I drew my blade
and with an oath upon my lips
to Venus
made short my time here
so that I might follow
the footsteps
of Caesar no longer
and instead
with eyes closed and soul open
follow the smells
of myrrh and cinnamon
which now flows
from your warm body
and washes over my troubled spirit
to calm this rampaging panic
in my breast
and as I lay a final glance
upon your face
I understand that
I will prepare the way for you
and when you and I are once again joined
you will find all the secrets I have kept for you
here within my heart
and we will once again become
those same bright stars that we were
long ago
when the universe was new
and love had no name
as beautiful as
Cleopatra

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Love had no name…

  1. Purpleanais says:

    I LOVE what you’ve done with a fascinating story, Eric. The painting is perfect to accompany your words too. Truly beautiful and delicately romantic ❀

  2. Emily says:

    Aaaaw, sigh. A very scent-ual experience. πŸ˜€ Love it ❀

  3. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Wow…you’re so amazing. ❀

  4. Eric, you know I love this! My favorite line …’you will find all the secrets I have kept for you here within my heart’ beautiful just beautiful. I look forward to the day I can share mine with a man I love. πŸ˜ŠπŸ’•

Leave a Reply

