Unraveled…

unraveled_2My voice has come undone, my love
I’ve no words left to say
my lips no longer know how to sing
like the birds at break of day

My heart has come undone, my love
it does not beat so loud
it remembers when I held your hand
it remembers when I was proud

My soul has come undone, my love
it does not feel your light
though it wanders looking everywhere
in the dark of the starless night

My life has come undone, my love
though it’s sadly told
when you extinguished passion’s flame
there’s nothing left but cold

and though I miss you every day
and especially every night
I’ll have to learn to understand
that I have lost this fight

 

 

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Unraveled…

  1. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Oh, Eric. This is so lovely and so heart wrenching. ❤ ❤

  2. xaranahara says:

    Great poem. I, too, combat these feelings.

  3. trE says:

    This is incredibly sad, but very well written. I love this:

    “My life has come undone, my love
    though it’s sadly told
    when you extinguished passion’s flame
    there’s nothing left but cold

    and though I miss you every day
    and especially every night
    I’ll have to learn to understand
    that I have lost this fight”

    Great work, Eric.

  4. Ms. Vee says:

    So very beautiful! ❤

  5. mandibelle16 says:

    Beautiful Eric and so sad. He loves her, his light, but he can’t have her — “a lost fight.”

  6. Meg Sorick says:

    Oh so sad… But beautiful as always, Eric. ❤️

  7. Beautiful… so so sad… but beautiful. ♥

  8. Tenacity T says:

    You never disappoint! I nominated you for something on my new post!

  9. Eric, I hope everything is alright. 😊 Your language is exquisite. I wish for you to see the brightest stars in the dark sky, and may you capture them for all time. 💕

  10. This. ❤️ This is one of my favorite poems by you, my friend. And that is saying something. This is stunning. #mast

  11. Purpleanais says:

    Oh, Eric…you’ve brought tears to my eyes. Truly heartbreakingly beautiful 💜

  12. Mr Modigliani says:

    Eric, I won’t ask personal questions but wish to affirm the praise and adoration of all that have commented before me.

  13. Em says:

    Sorry, I missed this one. Gorgeously heart-tugging. ❤

Leave a Reply

