Isuelt… (Isolde)

leighton-stitching_the_standard

Edmund Blair Leighton “Stitching the Standard”

With each pass
of needle and thread
through this worn cloth
thus do the fissures
and cracks
in my heart
grow closer together
wounds caused
not through the touch
of your hand
or the movement of
warm breath
on the back of my neck
‘Tis the removal of such
sweet and divine gifts
as these
that cause my pain
when morning chases away
our hearts
from their comfortable roost
and like startled pheasants
burst into the morning sky
and break our union
returning to these places
where our dreams
rule over the events of the day
dragging our
weary souls
through the hours
until
by cover of the shadows
love’s flower blooms brightly
between us once again
and I will lay aside
this needle and thread
and you lay aside
that sword and shield
and together we become
what the other can not be
and neither of us
shall remain here
a relic or a treasure
of the king

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Isuelt… (Isolde)

  1. Mr Modigliani says:

    Hi Eric. I hope you are well. I loved this and it felt a bit autobiographical. I’m slowly making my way back and saying hello to friends that I care for and just thought I would drop in and shake your hand, maybe even give you a man hug. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving week.

  2. I heart this very much! 😊❀️️

  3. VictoryInTrouble says:

    So beautiful! I still need to read that sci fi piece! I hope you’re having a good day! 😊

  4. Emily says:

    Fantastic, especially the last several lines. ❀ And I loved the image of love's flower blooming in the shadows. πŸ™‚

  5. Sabiscuit says:

    Reading your poetry is like falling into a fantastic well – hope and longing float along on spirit wings.

  6. Ah. Tristan and Isolde. ❀️ Nicely done. Your ability to tell a story so beautifully from the point of view of one of the characters is amazing. It’s a gift. Love this piece. #mast

  7. Purpleanais says:

    I am in love with your writing…

Leave a Reply

