Ballad of The Knackered Mare…

2ed62c41fb8df63a1c53a5a822df30b9

Deidre’s the barmaid
at the Knackered Mare
with midday in her eyes
and midnight in her hair

She’s quick with a smile
and quicker with wit
and it’s said, once,
she carried a blade on her hip

Her father’s the owner
they call him Big George
and they say, before this,
he worked at the forge

A blacksmith by trade
he’d made many a sword
including the one
that hangs over the door

“Hubris” they call it
I know it sounds strange
but allow me to tell you
how it got that very name

It was grey rainy day
in the middle of December
those who were there
will always remember

A party of bandits
came down from the hills
and stopped by The Mare
in the search of some thrills

They kicked in the door
and brandished their blades
and each one of them
happily earned the name, Knave

They roughed up the patrons
and ravaged the place
and a sword’s heavy pummel
punched Big George in the face

They howled and they threatened
knocking George to the ground
until they were suddenly silenced
by the softest of sounds

Deidre had entered
from the kitchen nearby
and she stood in the doorway
catching each criminal’s eye

“What have we here?”
asked their leader
his voice black with intent
“There’s gold for the taking and also a wench?”

“There’s no need to take me”
Deidre said with a smile
“I’ll go with you plainly,
if you’ll grant me a trial”

The thief leader laughed
and his band did too
What could she ask
That he couldn’t do?

“I’ll fight you one-handed
With that blade by the door
If you best me
the gold and myself will be yours”

The brigand was silent
he reached for the sword
and he tossed it near Deidre
to land on the floor

“then take it”
he said,  sneering with pride
“And let’s do this quickly,
I’m eager to ride”

The barmaid stooped down
and plucked up the blade
and held it quite firmly
approaching the knave

He laughed deep and loudly,
her stature, demure
this fight would be over
very quickly, he’s sure

and it was over quickly
though not as he planned
the first thing he lost
was his blade, then his hand

then she took his head off
of his shoulders with ease
and it tumbled and rolled
to the other villains feet

This was enough
for the others to learn
and encouraged them to exit
and never return

Deidre returned “Hubris”
to the space above the door
and she helped her Dad up
from the dirty, cold floor

and it’s said to this day
when you visit The Mare
if you want laughter, be welcome
if trouble…..beware

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Ballad of The Knackered Mare…

  1. Mr Modigliani says:

    Your talent is really, truly limitless Eric. I enjoyed this so much.

  2. thefeatheredsleep says:

    E this one cracked me up! Love the word ‘knackered’ so much.
    xo

    • Eric says:

      ha! good! and yes, it’s an awesome word! 🙂

      • thefeatheredsleep says:

        Hi. I just wanted to let you know I have left WordPress and online writing. I had two close friends on WP whom I counted very dearly, a few months ago one abruptly stopped talking to me because she thought something I wrote was about her (it wasn’t) and she would not let me explain it was not about her. Then today my second friend told me she did not want to be my friend anymore because I asked her why she was liking the work of the first person who had been so unkind to me. This was the breaking point for her, she basically told me to fuck off. All of this has happened a year after a third friend who wrote on WP but whom I knew in real life, had ALSO told me to fuck off, she accused me of trying to stop her from having relationships. It should be pointed out she is mentally ill and does this regularly to people. I realize my fault is in befriending very mentally ill people and I don’t hold myself responsible in any way for our falling out, but the other two people I cannot say I don’t feel this is personal. For this reason and because my depression is savage and always one step from giving up, I really don’t need this hurt and pain and betrayal. I admit I may cause it somehow, else how could I be the common denominator? But to protect myself I am going to quit everything, shut everything down and retire away. Life is hard enough without pain like that on top of it. If I know one thing it’s that I’m a good person and I don’t deserve this but it’s happened and I am leaving. I wanted to at least tell you so you knew and because you have been a kind person and I like you. I wish you well in all you do. Goodbye.

  3. VictoryInTrouble says:

    LOVE!! This is so fun! And I love these lines
    “with midday in her eyes
    and midnight in her hair”

  4. I really like this, Eric! As always… great writing, my friend.

  5. Meg Sorick says:

    This is tremendous, Eric! I love the storytelling, the song in it! Would you mind a reblog?

  6. Meg Sorick says:

    Reblogged this on Meg Sorick Writes and commented:
    My friend, Eric: poet, bard, romantic… this is an excellent example of his wonderful storytelling style!

  7. Rita says:

    Hot damn! I don’t even have to tell you. You know it! 🗡

  8. Oh, this is so lyrical. I loved it!

  9. I love this, so very much. I think I knew the lady, perhaps in another life!

  10. Heartafire says:

    Amazing writing Eric. You slipped under my radar and I lost your blog inmail and reader. It’s good to read you again!

  11. Eric, you have a mind like no other. Your writing here is strong amazing. The rhymes in your work speak with such wit and sense of humor. I shall be reading more of your work. 🙂

  12. I’m sorry. Not funny but I’m laughing so hard. It’s disgusting and revolting of course but her kicking ass in lyrics… This is fabulous. #mast 😀

  13. You know how to weave a spell

  14. Ha! Great stuff, Brother!

    You’ve got a real knack for writing in verse. 😀

  15. Emily says:

    Fantastic, my friend ❤ Big smiles (from a girl who hasn't smiled much lately).

Leave a Reply

