Selene…

diana-moon-goddess-560x675

“It’s so lonely
up there…”

She says
as her glow
ruffles the covers
of my bed

she
a light
that has burned
since the start
never ceases
to capture my heart

“….the stars lay in shoals
and reefs of sparks
but they are so far away
and I’m alone
in the dark”

“Then stay here…”
I beg
sitting upright in bed
with my knees to my chest
holding words in my heart
that are always, unsaid

I’ll hold my breath too
as I watch her lie down
her sweet glowing face
framed in tresses of brown

but how can you
presume to suppose
that you can offer the moonlight
somewhere to repose

or that you can ask
a heavenly light
to forsake the rest
and here, spend the night

and that skip
in your heart
as she fades off to sleep
as faintly she whispers

“…I might…”

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Selene…

  1. VictoryInTrouble says:

    oh, Eric, so beautiful!

  2. Heartafire says:

    Such lovely poetry , thank you Eric!

  3. Mr Modigliani says:

    You have a beautiful heart Eric

  4. Oh, the promise of ‘I might’. Lovely Eric.

  5. Meg Sorick says:

    Lovely! The White Goddess – the ultimate Muse! ✨💖✨ Magical Eric!

  6. So beautiful! But also so timely as Selene is also the name of the main character in Underworld and there is another Underworld just come out at the movies!

  7. Rita says:

    Speechless little brother. The romance and elegant desire is riveting ❤

  8. This is exquisite, my friend! 🙂

  9. mandibelle16 says:

    Pretty piece Eric. You do a good job of showing and writing wonderfully, how elusive she is for him. But I think in the end line, there’s a good chance of hope it will work out.

  10. Eric, you have created such a beautiful masterpiece in this poem. 🙂

  11. Oh, I love Selene. I adore goddesses accociated with the moon. This is heavenly. (Sorry…couldn’t resist.) You have a beautiful way of crafting entities into beings…women who are more than an abstract notion. Well done! 💙 🌙 #mast

  12. Em says:

    Aaaaw….sigh…lovely. ❤

  13. Purpleanais says:

    My heart skips a beat 😍😍😍😍

  14. Pingback: Evolution of a Poem… | My Sword and Shield….

Leave a Reply

