Redolence…

img_20170201_145228

When I passed
this pretty flower
I thought to bring it to thine heart

For all things beautiful
must attract
and in each others company so create
a world in which I wish to live

For all things beautiful
I had thought to have seen
but never so lovely as thou art

but in presentation
of such a gift
I have o’er cast my soul with shadow
and my heart skips a beat of distress

for your bowed head
and dark lashes closed
to enjoy the redolence of my gift
I have deprived myself of the world of your eyes

and in doing so
though your beauty smolders in still life
and all of nature would hold its breath to admire you in this moment
I find my spirit stands upon the tips of its toes

like that flower
upturned its face to the sun
to better grow in the warmth of love

so does my soul to thee

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Redolence…

  1. Alisa Hutton says:

    So incredibly beautiful, Eric.

  2. Dana R says:

    A very deep sigh … ❀

  3. Heartafire says:

    Breathtaking! “I have deprived myself of the world of your eyes”… unbelievably beautiful!

  4. Rita says:

    Lil Brother, this is beautiful ❀

  5. Meg Sorick says:

    Oh my swooning heart! Sir Eric! βœ¨πŸ’–βœ¨

  6. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Ohhh my goodness, Eric. This is such gorgeous poetry. No one writes love poems like you do. ❀

  7. Mr Modigliani says:

    Reblogged this on Mr. Modigliani's Private Studio and commented:
    Eric is such a gifted poet and so deeply romantic at his core. Many of you already follow him, but if you don’t, please visit his blog and discover an entire trove of amazing writing

  8. Beautiful, Eric! πŸ™‚

  9. Purpleanais says:

    Oh, Eric. *swoons and falls very slowly to the ground, like an Autumn leaf…so your clone can rescue me just in time*

  10. Selina says:

    such beautiful words…thank you SOOOO much!

  11. trE says:

    This is where my heartstrings were pulled:

    “and my heart skips a beat of distress

    for your bowed head
    and dark lashes closed
    to enjoy the redolence of my gift
    I have deprived myself of the world of your eyes

    and in doing so
    though your beauty smolders in still life
    and all of nature would hold its breath to admire you in this moment”

    What a delight this is, Eric.

  12. Oh, this is a beauty! “my spirit stands upon the tips of its toes…” Gorgeous imagery in this one, Eric. Reminds me of some of your older pieces. Just lovely. ❀ #mast

Leave a Reply

