Evolution of a Poem…

photo by Kristina Bychkova

photo by Kristina Bychkova

So I thought I might take you through this with me…
just to illustrate how poetry can evolve and change shape
when given enough time and space.

Apparently, My Muse is fighting a battle I know nothing about…

I think I started to realize it when I wrote: Defiance
Then I felt it again when I wrote: Selene

Then once again more recently with: Opia

But it’s pretty clear when She speaks through me…and now again with this.

It started off as a Twitter post:

With watering eyes
and weeping heart
She summoned
An ember of hope
From the bloodsoaked ground
At her feet…
And
her fear
Took a step back

Usually, I write for the prompts…they are exercises that I enjoy doing to keep up my writing. It’s poetry practice…if you will….
But this time it was different. No prompt guided me through this one…it just came out.

140 characters wasn’t enough…and I couldn’t let it sit that way. So…..I hopped into an app I use to post things on my Instagram account. And this is what happened….

With watering eyes
and a weeping heart
She summoned forth
an ember of hope
from the blood-soaked ground
at her feet…

and for the first time
in her life
fear
took a step back
away from her
in
apprehension

And I left if it like that, since yesterday. But all day today…I kept feeling the nagging in the back of my mind. There needs to be a little more…it’s not finished. There is more to be said…

So we get:

With watering eyes
and a weeping heart
She summoned forth
an ember of hope
from the blood-soaked ground
at her feet…

and for the first time
in her life
fear
took a step back
away from her
in
apprehension

No more
would she hide
from the hounds
like the timid rabbit
huddled within the brambles

heart pounding…
…warning…
that her racing pulse
might leave her dead
in the morning upon the dewy earth

no

She felt her teeth in her mouth
She felt her strength in her hands
She felt a roar in her throat

and then…

She sprouted wings

and I think finally, that she is satisfied…with this one anyway. Whatever is troubling her, I hope it passes quickly…and whatever I do, I will remain eternally grateful that she chooses me to express it.

Thank you all for being here with me. I really appreciate it.

All my best,

ERIC

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Evolution of a Poem…

  1. Dana R says:

    Thank you for sharing this process with us. I, too, am grateful she speaks through you. ❤

  2. Meg Sorick says:

    Thank you, Eric. It’s wonderful to see how something develops. I hope your Muse is winning her battle. This one certainly came out beautifully! ❤

  3. Kelly says:

    It’s good to listen to that inner nag. Nice work! 👍🏻👍🏻

  4. Love to you and your muse. ❤️

  5. Rita says:

    This. This is what I was talking about. ❤

  6. I love this! ❤ The poetry…gorgeous but, also, watching this process, the making of a poem, is spectacular. Thank you for sharing this. #mast

  7. Amazing insight into your process. It’s really interesting to see how someone else’s work grows from its original premise.
    I’ve developed a habit of a scribbling down couplets on post it notes adding to them as I have ideas until I eventually sit down to compose properly.
    I like the way your mind works!

  8. Lovely to see the development process. I think your muse will be well satisfied with the result.

  9. rosie49 says:

    I really enjoy the process. And it’s always a treat to see how an artist works through theirs as well. “Showing your work” lets people know that creative work IS work — it doesn’t spin out perfectly with the first draft. Thanks for another great post.

  10. Em says:

    I can relate to this kind of process. Funny how we can think we’re done, but our muses know better. 🙂 Wonderful.

  11. Purpleanais says:

    I love what you’ve done here. I work like that too sometimes. I run with a Twitter prompt and it either feels right as it is or it begs me for more words and I have to turn it into a “tweet pic” and even then it sometimes isn’t enough so it becomes a blog post.
    Also, thank you for the opportunity to read those 3 gorgeous pieces again 😍💜

  12. Ali Grimshaw says:

    Eric, I really enjoyed the insight into your writing process and your poem. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

