The Lady of the Forest…

252cf274fcefb777c65f868fa52d90f7The first time I met her
She wore a gown of brilliant pastels
verdant and bright
I watched butterflies dance
in the center of her heart
like living gems
she wore a crown
of apple blossoms as I played
on a carpet of wildflowers
beneath her feet
unable to speak
I could not find the words
to describe her
then

The next time I met her
She wore a gown of deepest green
soft velvet and rich tones
of midday heat
I crawled into her loving arms
and she rocked me
in her cooling shade
night birds sang me a lullaby
as she wore a crown of stars
high above her head
and when it was time
to make my way back
the dappled moonlight and fireflies
would light my way

The next time I met her
She wore a gown of scarlet
tongues of flame
dripped down from
her Auburn hair
her breath
washed over me
as I knelt
in the sea of fire at her feet
with head bowed
I asked her to take this chill
from my bones
She wore a crown of gold
on a throne of brown
I lay my burdens on the moist litterfall
and for a while
I warmed myself by the fire
of her company

The last time I saw her
She wore a gown of pure white
with diamonds in her hair
as I came to her
I thought myself
an Ill-mannered oaf
no gifts did I bring
no tithe of fealty could I offer
no hope did I bring
for warmer days
and the glow of another sun
to rise on the morrow
my back was bent
my shoulders low
I wore the grey and white crown
of an older man

I came to kneel
at the foot of her throne
and once more to breathe in her beauty

I said,
“My Lady, I bring you nothing. Except the memories of you I keep in my heart.

She said,
“My Son, I am more wealthy than I could ever be…there is nothing more I need.
Because you have come home.”

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The Lady of the Forest…

  1. Rita says:

    Eric, this is astounding ❤

  2. Heartafire says:

    This is so beautiful Eric.

  3. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Oh wow, Eric. This is so beautiful! I feel like I always say that but it’s true!! ❤

  4. Brilliant, Brother! As always, the imagery is incredible but you also did a wonderful job carrying through the seasons/stages theme.

  5. Joel F says:

    Stunning poetry. I’m speechless. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Emily says:

    Stunning array of color in vivid imagery and emotion. Lovely, E! ❤

  7. Mr Modigliani says:

    Eric, you have such an amazing and mystical way of honoring women. Your command of language and imagery is stunning

  8. trE says:

    This reads like you sat with the words for ages, ensuring their perfection, especially here:

    “I crawled into her loving arms
    and she rocked me
    in her cooling shade
    night birds sang me a lullaby
    as she wore a crown of stars
    high above her head
    and when it was time
    to make my way back
    the dappled moonlight and fireflies
    would light my way

    The next time I met her
    She wore a gown of scarlet
    tongues of flame
    dripped down from
    her Auburn hair
    her breath
    washed over me
    as I knelt
    in the sea of fire at her feet
    with head bowed
    I asked her to take this chill
    from my bones”

    And, the ending, such a “Prodigal son” feel to it. It’s exceptional.

  9. It’s gorgeous. ❤ You’re right. I might like this one even more. It’s probably one of my favorites. I love her. I love this.

  10. Purpleanais says:

    Just beautiful. It sounds so tame and mundane but I mean it in the true sense of the word and not the overused version 💜

Leave a Reply

