Squire…

without a word
I gently laid
the last
of her armor
on the ground
it had been hours since
we had started talking
and I could see
little by little
she began to remove it
piece by piece
unbuckling leather straps
and sliding off sleeves of mail
I, understanding the ceremony
involved in this
and the sanctity of this place
I, fell into my role
taking the pieces one by one
carefully cleaning and mending them
by the light of our conversation
reverently arranging them
before her
so that she may don them
at any time
my labor complete
it would have been easy
to get lost in the sight of her there
to drown in the depths of her eyes
as she spoke about the things
that clawed at the walls of her heart
to focus on
some curvaceous part of her
that was only a moment ago
entrenched behind scratched steel and leather
now warm, and full, and open
the pink filigree impressions
fading from the surface of her skin
where it had been held tightly
by satin and lace
all these things
these small reflections of who she is
pale in comparison
to where my eyes are drawn
and try as I might
I can not tear them away
She is gracious
about my staring
She says it is ok
they do not hurt as much as they did, a brief while ago
I ask if I might fetch some bandages
or salves to take away the sting
She thanks me
she takes my hands
in her own
rough and terrible as they are
and reminds me
that our scars make us
who we are
and not all of them are on the surface
and I know
She speaks the truth

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Squire…

  1. Emily says:

    Oh my goodness. Love this and you. Such a glimpse into the amazing human you are. So many layers and beautiful metaphors here. ❀

  2. psaintsmith says:

    Beautiful. Simply Beautiful ❀

  3. This might be one of my favorite poems of yours. I especially like the last two lines. It takes courage to be vulnerable and to let our defenses down. it really is about trust and being able to reveal our inner selves, flaws and all. You conveyed that so eloquently in this post.

  4. Alisa Hutton says:

    This is incredible, really beautiful.

  5. Meg Sorick says:

    Sir Eric, this is wonderful. So many layers, so many facets to this! You never cease to amaze! βœ¨πŸ’–βœ¨

  6. Ms. Vee says:

    Fascinating writing Eric!πŸ’–β€

  7. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Oh, Eric, you continue to amaze me. This is incredibly moving. And I agree with Em- the world is better for your presence in it. ❀❀

  8. Quite eloquent, as always Eric! πŸ˜ŠπŸ’• wonderful post for today! Your heart is always expressed through your words, beautifully. ❀️

  9. A poem to fall in love with

  10. πŸ’œ this is amazing mostly because of your talent but to me perhaps because my rituals are my adoration at times, my comfort at others and always in the middle chaos my peace. I believe people forget the love in the simplicity and am certainly glad this sentiment is not lost in you for sure. Thank you for this today

Leave a Reply

