Spring Thaw…

I don’t see the sun very often
get up in the morning in the dark
make my way down
under the mountain
into the hard earth

I take out the cold lumps of shadow
and send them back up to the light
when I finally drag my tired and aching corpse
from the deepest of holes
the stars are lookin down on my ragged march
by lantern
in twilight hours

lately the crunch
of dead leaves and frost
has given way
to the heavy thump of my boots
on the rain-soaked earth
mossy stones line my way
and the sound of mockin birds an whip-er-wills
have returned to the mountainside

no
I don’t see the sun very often
….’cept on sunday mornin….
when I sit
in the back of that chapel house
a blasphemous wretch
with the good book laid to rest
near my lap

‘cuz I see her

The sun sits
in the second row of pews
with her dark brown hair
a’fallin from that blue satin bow

Her hands are folded
and those big blue eyes of hers
are watchin the preacher
talking about sin and damnation

but I don’t hear none of that shit

Cuz I’d sure enough jump straight into the pit o’hell
to spend a minute
sharin the view with her
the devil can wait

tomorrow night’s the spring thaw

The boys been knocking together
those planks and poles
so folks can stomp their feet and clap their hands

and those new ‘lectric lights
they’ll light up that clearing
in the woods
like midday

and I’ll be in my daddy’s
old coat and tie
put a blade to my face for the first time
in a couple’a’years

and maybe she’ll smile
and maybe she’ll laugh
and maybe we’ll tear up that wooden floor
like a summer storm coming down
from the peaks

and maybe I’ll twirl her
and maybe she’ll lose her balance
and maybe I’ll catch her

and maybe we’ll fall

 

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Spring Thaw…

  1. Heartafire says:

    Splendid Eric…love the vernacular! ❤

  2. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Swoon! I so love your romantic heart. ❤❤

  3. Ms. Vee says:

    Wonderful!!!!💖

  4. psaintsmith says:

    You know how I love this and why!

  5. Ali Grimshaw says:

    What a great title and a wonderful poem.

  6. I love the imagery of dancing with the sun and how the thawing of hearts can bring about music and dance and other freeing behaviors deemed lascivious by the hard core religionheads.

  7. Meg Sorick says:

    Fantastic! Swept right back in time and place. I could see it all. So wonderful!

  8. I didn’t know where you were going with this but loved it. Then had to start it again when I realized I misunderstood what you were doing. Then realized it didn’t matter. Dizzy yet? Beauty, my friend. The imagery is lovely and there are many pieces here that make the puzzle yet, if you separate them, would make beautiful poems all on their own. #mast

  9. You always write the most sigh worthy stuff

  10. Wonderful Eric. I really hope he caught her, and that she wanted to be caught, and that they fell, together!

Leave a Reply

