Repose…

Where for does it leave
a life less loved
as this?

To wonder away
the small hours of the night
in contemplation
whilst she
sleeps the deep slumber
of passion’s exhaustion
upon my weary chest

Should such arms as these
more suited to pedestrian tasks
not seem awkwardly placed
and blasphemously encircle
a slumbering goddess

Should my mouth
yet linger still in conversation
with my senses
provide the descriptions of her flavor
from thumb to ring finger and back
to prepare my palette for the
main course of her sweet lips and salty center

this still air
and the smell of her hair
does little to quiet these ungentlemanly thoughts
and how my memory replays
every satisfied sigh and moan
that were felt
through my lips against her throat

and though I love the dawn
and all that it brings
I would wish all the songbirds silent
and never more a gilded sky of morning to be seen

Let the stars forever rule the heavens
for me now
if it means that their slow fading
into the cerulean day
means my waking from this dream

If I am never again to know
the curve of her ass against my thighs
or the hemisphere of her breast
against my tongue
Let it be enough for the flame of memory
to burn this moment into my brain
and so engraved
catch what remains of my tired mind
alight with fury

Burn down the library
of my history
and upon the ruins leave a marker
for all who pass by the blackened timbers

“let it be known, ye who tread upon these ashes, that he loved”

and I will never visit this land again
nor wish to pilgrimage
to this holy place

 

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Repose…

  1. Emily says:

    Wow…just wow…

  2. Purpleanais says:

    This is so achingly sad, Eric… beautiful, and so full of passion, and love, and dignity. Another masterpiece from you – lucky is the one who signed her name across your heart ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ

  3. Heartafire says:

    Stunningly beautiful Eric. You are truly gifted. โค

  4. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Eric…you beautiful knight. This is absolutely stunning. Passion and emotion. I was trying to pick out favorite part but it’s impossible. The whole thing is my favorite. Every word you wrote. You always amaze me. ๐Ÿ˜˜โค

  5. Exquisite, as always, Eric. ๐Ÿ˜Š I am pretty sure that’s where you had me …a post called cerulean. I’ve been reading your posts ever since, if I remember correctly. ๐Ÿ’•

    • Eric says:

      Oh My Sweet Lady Pink!!! You’ve brought a huge smile to this face this morning. You remember Cerulean?!!? I can’t tell you how deeply it pleases me that you remembered something I’ve done. Ha! Thank you, I’m truly honored to have you here and to share these pieces with you. ๐Ÿ˜Šโค

  6. โค๏ธโค๏ธโค๏ธ

  7. This is the type of poem most of the women writers here on WordPress wish someone was writing for them! Just gorgeous Eric.

    • Eric says:

      Thank you so much!! That’s truly a wonderful sentiment. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Well I almost just typed *sigh* or *swoon* but thought I could be a little more direct. The women writers on WordPress rarely get wooed (that was far more alliterative than I was intending!) in their native language of poetry. We appreciate you providing us the image/ fantasy that maybe someone holding us would be thinking beautiful thoughts in “our” language..

        • Eric says:

          I understand exactly what you mean, I think. I often find myself swooning with the same appreciation.

          I’d like to be a little more “familiar” in my responses to you. Is there a name that you go by here that I can call you? I don’t know if Brave and Reckless would work to personalize my responses. Then again I completely understand the need for some sort of “screen name” out here.

          Thanks again for the wonderful comments!

  8. ….. wow! masterpiece!

Leave a Reply

