Queen of Thorns

There were times
When I would sit quietly in a pool of crimson
and contemplate the visions
she shows me
other times I would run to her
With the zealous fervor of baptism
into her faith
and bearing the smooth underside
of my arms
I would show her the wounds there
gleefully adoring each and every one
When I felt
the warm trickle
and gentle drip
the taste of salt and copper in my mouth
as I held her words within
savoring the sting
resisting the rising waves
against the threshold of my tolerance
I danced a minuet with pain
a swirling masquerade of red
she owns a particular shade of sullen
and its beauty is made manifest
in the blooms which blossom
amid the bramble thicket
though I have never been afraid
to reach inside
and feel the soft touch of their petals
against my finger tips
I willingly rend my own flesh by visiting her
I do not shy away from the bite
no, I crave to deeper press
my flesh against these barbs
and sigh in satisfaction that
like so many sovereigns of this realm
I am knighted in her service
and she may have
my sword
my shield
my heart
at her call
if I can but sit with her at banquet
and dine upon the specters of her past
talk of daemons to be slain
and know the exquisite warmth
of her dark fire
and perhaps when our meal is done
She will anoint my brow
with a gentle kiss
from her sacred lips
and I will wear the mark
of her favor

This poem was written for someone special to me.

Her name is Candice

She is an amazing poet and writer. Since I met her she has been an inspiration for me to dig deeper into my soul when I write. To put down even the most difficult of feelings into text and to stand unflinchingly and face pain and sorrow.
We all possess a certain amount of pain in our lives, Life is pain as far as I understand it. So when joy happens it is all that much sweeter. When the sun shines through the clouds it is more brighter than we remember last time.

That’s what the joy I have found in knowing Candice means to me. She writes about pain a lot of times…and reading what she has written often makes my heart bleed…but I am overjoyed to bleed with her. I consider it an honor to stand at her side and to be counted among her friends. Her trust and her opinion of me, are invaluable.

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Queen of Thorns

  1. Thank you. What else could I say that would not sound trite? Thank you. PS – strangely we should credit Nathalie for this, it was her nomikker for me, which in a way doesn’t describe me well at all – I liked the wordage and the sound of it – but it’s not a very literally accurate description of me – though I’m an equal fangirl of Game of Thrones and Vikings so I kinda kept it despite that ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Purpleanais says:

      Of course it doesn’t perfectly accurately describe you, but it sounds SO kickass though! So it’s perfect ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Eric says:

      You’re welcome, Candice. Of course it does not literally describe you but I hope you could understand the metaphorical connection. You are a wonderful soul, Shieldmaiden. We share a great deal of honor by knowing each other and I’m very proud to have you here. All my love! ๐Ÿ’œ

  2. Purpleanais says:

    I can only repeat what I said yesterday: I LOVE it – such a fitting tribute to my Candice ๐Ÿ’œ

    • Eric says:

      And thank you, Nathalie for providing me with more inspiration! It was your mention of the name that combined with my love for Candice that produced this. ๐Ÿ’œ

  3. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Ah, still amazing- or maybe even more so! I love it!

  4. I too, feel her pain in her words. ๐Ÿ’–

  5. Rita says:

    Love this, my Brother!

  6. Emily says:

    Excellent! What a beautiful sentiment. Candice brings raw to the table with such stunning vividness.

  7. This is such a wonderful poem for your friend. Just beautiful

  8. Absolutly gorgeous. You can’t help but get swept up in the emotional imagery. It’s quite the tribute.

    I’m so glad I got to read this. I’ve lost blogs I was following. I don’t know how… I certainly havnt unfollowed Maybe it has some ting to do with my time away but I can’t thank you enough for reintroducing me to a writer I admire and had no idea I wasn’t connected with anymore!!

  9. Reblogged this on Brave and Reckless and commented:
    Amazing writing from one of my favorite writers and people on WP, Eric at My Sword and Shieldโ€ฆ. written about another one of my favorite writers and people on WP, Candice at The Feathered Sleep. My honor and privilege to share this piece.

  10. oldepunk says:

    What an incredible salute to one of the outstanding talents on WP, as well as a damn good person. I raise a glass to you Sir Knight. Huzzah!๐Ÿบ

  11. 1Wise-Woman says:

    Beautiful! And even more so knowing that it dedicated to Candice. She is such an inspiration โค

Leave a Reply

