Beltane…

festival of flame
paint the woad
upon face and limb
douse the fire in every hearth
bare feet upon the brambled path
weave between the ash and oak
holly and hawthorn
cap and crown
skin alive
in the orange light
bonfire rages
making day of night
and in this circle
be born anew
under the watchful gaze
of the Cerridwyn’s Moon
sacred ribbons tied in thorny boughs
warrior hearts offer petitions, proud
’round the raging inferno
dances thunderous feet
the forest reverent in vigil
to this raucous feast
and when the blessed dew falls
upon the following morn
I will meet the sun’s fire
with my own flame reborn

Audio

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Beltane…

  1. Lovely.

    Random trivia: I used to have a cat named Cerridwyn’s

  2. Ah! Beltane beauty! πŸ”₯πŸ”₯πŸ”₯ Love this! Have a fiery first of May. ❀️

  3. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Awesome! I love this Eric! I need something like this! ❀️

  4. alexraphael says:

    Love the words and shape of the poem. Great image too.

  5. Rita says:

    Wowwww ❀️

  6. Emily says:

    So wonderful, E! Would love to hear you read this. The imagery is spectacular, as is your storytelling.

    • Eric says:

      Thank you, Emily! I’ll see what I can so tomorrow. I think I’m about due to read one. I also think it would be fun to read Pilgrimage.

    • Eric says:

      Per your request, Lady. If that link doesn’t work you can click on the one in the original text. ❀

      • Emily says:

        Oh, I love it, E. I really enjoy your subtle N’awlins accent. Thank you! πŸ™πŸΌπŸ’œ

        • Eric says:

          My pleasure, Ma’am. People are always surprised that I don’t possess a drawl. Most of us here do not. Lol.

          • Emily says:

            Yes, I suppose the voice I have heard the most from Nola is Harry Connick, Jr, and perhaps Wynton Marsalis, Jr, whom I’ve met. I love the sound of the accent, theirs and yours.

  7. Heartafire says:

    A beautifully intricate poem Eric, as a Welsh girl I was especially drawn in by your reference to Cerridwyn’s Moon, perfectly lovely. Happy May Day Eric ❀

  8. Beltane has interested me ever since I heard and read about it. Must’ve been quite a night! “Raucous feast” indeed.

  9. Love Welsh so much this is terrific

Leave a Reply

