Castaway…

days that I’ve sat upon this shore
with grains of sand that
pronounce my fingers a sieve
I have watched as she wore the sea
like a new dress
the waves embrace her
every curve and line
as only my arms can wish and envy
her heart
beats a topaz rhythm
against cerulean skies
and when the evening sun
turns the trees behind me
into pillars of flame
I’ll close my eyes
and listen for her voice
in the surf
and if she should speak
my name
I’ll be Hannibal
astride the shattered walls
of Rome

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Castaway…

  1. Meg Sorick says:

    This makes me long for the ocean. Beautiful imagery, Sir Eric! ❤️

  2. Eric whenever I read your poetry I am left speechless. Simple words just won’t do but they are all I have. Just know that you are an awesome writer and I am left breathlessly enthralled by your gift of expression.

  3. Angela says:

    I was whisked away, Eric. Beautiful!

  4. Rita says:

    👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

  5. I was longing for the beach, and even more after this write 😊 Love how the sea feels against me! Lovely photo to accompany a beautiful post, Eric ❤️

  6. Tom Hanks and. Wilson approves v😊 Lovely imagery

  7. Dana R says:

    Exquisite, dear Poet. Your words touch this Siren’s heart. ❤

  8. The idea of the messages in sand

Leave a Reply

