Waterborne… (revisited)

“Be careful what you wish for.” She said
I watched, helplessly from vantage point on the shore
Her voice was barely a whisper but, the salt air sent it to my ears, clearer than a bell
arms folded across Her chest, Her beautiful face was turned away from me.
I ached to see Her, as only the ocean could see Her,  in this very moment.
The setting sun turned Her hair to fire
I imagined the tears in Her dark eyes
How their taste would remind me of Her home
My mortal feet shuffled in my uncomfortable position
I heard my heart breaking for Her
As it had done, every day, since I met Her
This universe was capable of such horrible cruelty
to such beautiful creatures
My world had known such joy at the first instance I sat upon
this very shore and watched and waited for Her to surface
standing here now
I couldn’t slow the pounding of my heart
I wanted to reach for Her
But She was so far away out on that Rock
And I can’t swim
Not the way She can
I looked over my shoulder
To the encroaching dark of my homeland
Tried to clear the water from my own eyes
Rubbing furiously with my sleeve
like I did when I was a kid
The dark cloth soaking up the salt and the pain
Finally daring to look back
Wanting one last glimpse of Her
A final image to take back with me
and put in a shoebox, under my bed
As proof that She was here
But the surf had carried Her home
And the pieces fell apart
on the sand

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Waterborne… (revisited)

  1. Dana R says:

    I once wrote about how each grain of sand carries a memory or an echo of an emotion … this piece reminds me of how fragile we are, in reality and fantasy. Beautiful, Eric.

  2. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Oh, Eric, your writing always touches my heart. ❤️

  3. Meg Sorick says:

    Sigh…. so sad but so very beautiful, sir Eric. ❤

  4. Emily says:

    Ah, totally swept me away, Eric. Really lovely.

  5. Sam Christian says:

    Hello, old friend, really enjoyed this piece very well written.

  6. You’re on fire (under the sea)

Leave a Reply

