Warrioress…

The background noise you hear
is the screaming of my soul
amplified and echoing over the eons
it is a constant cacophony within my skull
it is the traumatized keening
of a tortured mind on fire
it is my desperate attempt to make sense
of this
circus you call reality
it is my subconscious trying to reason with these
Wonderlandian rules that you have created
spilled out upon pages of black and white checkerboard
some words fit
other words don’t
some words will be seen
other words won’t
I can hear my heart’s maniacal giggling
almost a child’s sing-song story nursery rhyme
about being careful
to watch your step
and falling anyway
because the flagstones are wet parchment and marshmallow fluff
your Carrollean jubjub bird
has a sharp beak
and I can hear the bandersnatch within the thicket grove
growling for a feast at my throat
I am no stranger to wounds
I have bound myself together more times than I can count
never with cloth
always with steel and leather
until I disappear behind lays of protection so thick
no one knows my face, not even the mirror
you believe you control my image
you have given me the biceps of Athena
the sway of Aphrodite in my hips
the power of Boudica in my stride
the angle of Joan D’arc in my jaw
yet now you think you can hold me here?
in this tiny box you balance in your outstretched palm
why?
because my cheek bones cannot cut glass?
because I choose the sword over the milk pail?
because I fight for my sisters instead of mourn their fate?
make no mistake
under this armor lies the heart of a goddess
starkly defended by the blade of a she-wolf

About Eric

Writer/Plumber/Poet/Father/Gentleman/Romantic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Warrioress…

  1. Amazing, I hope to come back for this one with your permission….💗💗💗

  2. This piece is simply fantastic

  3. Reblogged this on House of Heart and commented:
    Stunning poetry, thank you Eric.

  4. Argh the circus of reality, indeed we need to be well armored and prepared for the battle of minds.. A truly inspirational poem.. I came via Holly’s reblog Eric.. A wonderful poem, Thank you

  5. I LOVE THIS SO MUCH! Saw it on Holly’s blog and it’s fantastic. I hope you don’t mind if I reblog it as well. As many people as possible should be able to read this wonderful poem. Thank you.

  6. Reblogged this on Rethinking Life and commented:
    An outstanding poem from the blog of : My Sword and Shield

  7. Resa says:

    Well, this is one she-wolf soul rousing piece, Eric! It’s so well done. If I hadn’t read it on Holly’s blog, and had just read it not knowing the poet was a man, I would have been sure it was a very strong sister singing out.

    • Eric says:

      There are so many compliments in this on so many levels. I can only say that I am blessed to know so many strong females spirits out here. Reading their work gives me a precious perspective that very few men have. Looking through their eyes I get a better look life! I can only hope to express just a fraction of the fire that spending time in the warmth of their ferocious hearts has transferred to mine.

      Thank you so much and it is a pleasure to meet you, Resa.

  8. I had read this on your FB page but just have to say again, your descriptions of warriors and battle always give me chills. Once again, the pairing of words and art are wonderful.

  9. Splendid! I loved it and I thank Holly for making me discover that. 🙂

  10. Patty says:

    I wish I could be her, when I grow up…
    Marvelously written, dear Eric.
    XxX

  11. Pingback: Your Art in the Spotlight – The Strix

  12. I feel this. Amazing as always

Leave a Reply

